Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2017, 09:58 PM   #101
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: PH
Posts: 45
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

So the rated 3A in-built BEC is more than capable of pushing a 25kg servo no probs then. No performance difference running it straight to ESC over a dedicated BEC?

Last edited by goldcrow; 09-04-2017 at 10:02 PM.
goldcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-11-2017, 07:01 PM   #102
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: @scaleobsession on instagram
Posts: 155
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Installed my 1080 in my new tf2 lwb build tonight and out of the box I had very little power forward but 100% in reverse. Quickly glancing through settings, I couldn't find a fix. I reversed my motor wires as a quick fix. Has anyone else ran into this?
coffeeaddict17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 07:17 PM   #103
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,511
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeeaddict17 View Post
Installed my 1080 in my new tf2 lwb build tonight and out of the box I had very little power forward but 100% in reverse. Quickly glancing through settings, I couldn't find a fix. I reversed my motor wires as a quick fix. Has anyone else ran into this?
I'm guessing you didn't read the instructions and calibrate it properly. Do that. Then come back to this thread a happy person.
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 07:07 AM   #104
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,511
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeeaddict17 View Post
Installed my 1080 in my new tf2 lwb build tonight and out of the box I had very little power forward but 100% in reverse. Quickly glancing through settings, I couldn't find a fix. I reversed my motor wires as a quick fix. Has anyone else ran into this?
I replied to your PM. I'm not sure if you got it because Tapatalk said my messages were full.

Before calibrating this or any HobbyWing ESC you might have to set your transmitter's throttle channel to "Reverse". The manual states that's for Futaba radios only, but that hasn't always been true in my experience. You can try that.

If that still doesn't work you might have a motor with timing. Which motor are you running?
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 08:24 AM   #105
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 401
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

My third 1080 arrived yesterday for my 10.2
That's one onthe 10, 10.2 and if i can get access inside by cutting off the case on my third 1080 to repair the blown capacitor that will go on my AX10
Hardcoretam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 09:04 AM   #106
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Price Twp.
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goldcrow View Post
So the rated 3A in-built BEC is more than capable of pushing a 25kg servo no probs then. No performance difference running it straight to ESC over a dedicated BEC?
That is a subjective questions. You really need to know the spec for the servo.

If you want to figure it out here is what you do.
The BEC output is:
7.4v@3a max, so that is 22.2 Watts
6.0v@3a max, so that is 18.0 Watts

Take your servo input voltage, then find out the draw in amps. Multiple them to get the total Watts. The required Watts should not exceed the available Watts. Additionally you want the voltage and amperage of the servo to fall below the max amperage available and be close to the voltage provided.

Now as far as I can tell most servo companies do not include a amperage spec. I think this is a large part of the problem with electronics in rc's.

What you can do is hook up a volt meter to the output, measure the output voltage without a load, the measure it with a load and see if there is a difference. If the amperage available is enough for the servo the voltage will not change. If the amperage available is less then required you will see a voltage spike as it tries to make up for the difference by increasing the voltage.

Normally the BEC output is regulated so it starves the servo, which then causes brownouts.
Ditchrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 06:57 AM   #107
RCC Addict
 
Barndog Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Meridian,Id
Posts: 1,040
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

I have one of these on the way are you guys running a bec or not?
Barndog Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:08 AM   #108
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barndog Racing View Post
I have one of these on the way are you guys running a bec or not?
Nope.
LSXGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:31 AM   #109
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,364
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

I use it with a powerhd 20kg servo in my ax10 without bec and issues.
the 1080 internal bec is rated 3A if your servo doesn't need more it's fine.
magic_yeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 10:07 AM   #110
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: @scaleobsession on instagram
Posts: 155
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post
I replied to your PM. I'm not sure if you got it because Tapatalk said my messages were full.

Before calibrating this or any HobbyWing ESC you might have to set your transmitter's throttle channel to "Reverse". The manual states that's for Futaba radios only, but that hasn't always been true in my experience. You can try that.

If that still doesn't work you might have a motor with timing. Which motor are you running?

I dont recall if I ever responded to your message or not. I now I have two trail finders, both running an HW1080. The second 1080, I have still not been able to get it to go through the proper calibration, following the steps to a T.

I am running an axial 35T motor on this particular ESC. I have reversed the channel as specified also.
coffeeaddict17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 10:09 AM   #111
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,511
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeeaddict17 View Post
I dont recall if I ever responded to your message or not. I now I have two trail finders, both running an HW1080. The second 1080, I have still not been able to get it to go through the proper calibration, following the steps to a T.

I am running an axial 35T motor on this particular ESC. I have reversed the channel as specified also.
Then it might be defective. Have you tried it with a different motor and receiver?
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 11:20 AM   #112
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tifton
Posts: 589
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

I calibrated to my new radio this past weekend and had to go to reverse first then throttle unlike the manual says throttle then reverse. It worked fine
redemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 12:44 PM   #113
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Corruptifornia
Posts: 12,036
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barndog Racing View Post
I have one of these on the way are you guys running a bec or not?
I'm using mostly 3S lipo occasionally 2S, CCBEC with Hitec HS-7950TH, haven't tried it without a BEC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LSXGMC View Post
Nope.
What servo are you running?
Natedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 12:48 PM   #114
RCC Addict
 
Barndog Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Meridian,Id
Posts: 1,040
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Savox 1210sg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Barndog Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 01:24 PM   #115
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Natedog View Post
What servo are you running?

Holmes HV500, Savox 1231 and Spektrum S6280
LSXGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 01:34 PM   #116
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 662
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Good indication that it can handle a decent servo: I run a 7955TG @6V and some lights. Even when the servo is in a bind, the lights don't flicker. Which means that voltage is stable, which means the BEC is most likely just fine with the load!

Didn't try upping the voltage yet, though.
Ninomaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 02:01 PM   #117
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Corruptifornia
Posts: 12,036
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barndog Racing View Post
Savox 1210sg
Thanks, was referring to LSXGMC, but good to know what everyone is running for comparison.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LSXGMC View Post
Holmes HV500, Savox 1231 and Spektrum S6280
Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninomaniac View Post
Good indication that it can handle a decent servo: I run a 7955TG @6V and some lights. Even when the servo is in a bind, the lights don't flicker. Which means that voltage is stable, which means the BEC is most likely just fine with the load!

Didn't try upping the voltage yet, though.
Good info, on 2s or 3s? Up the voltage to 7 volts and let us know.
Natedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 09:06 AM   #118
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

anybody have a side by side picture of the 1080 next to an Fx-R?
ussprinceton2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 09:24 AM   #119
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Bolingbrook
Posts: 61
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

I just recieved mine and I was shocked at how compact it was. Sorry, but I do not have the FX-R to compare to though.
TAMELESSTGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 09:37 AM   #120
Moderator
 
JatoTheRipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 13,511
Default Re: Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ussprinceton2004 View Post
anybody have a side by side picture of the 1080 next to an Fx-R?
FX-R is definitely smaller.

HobbyWing WP 1080
L: 36.5
W: 32
H: 18
Wt: 58.5g

Tekin FX-R
L: 28
W: 20
H: 10
Wt: 18g
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Anyone using the Hobbywing QUICRun WP 1080 ESC? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QUICRUN WP 1080 brushed ESC (2-3S) With castle Bec Vwsb74 Electronics 14 04-07-2017 10:43 AM
Help me wire HobbyWing QuicRun WP 860 Dual motor ESC with ROCKER DIG II ssh22 Newbie General 0 08-06-2016 05:14 PM
Hobbywing Quicrun 860 Brushed Dual Motor ESC questions 4drmopar Electronics 4 02-13-2016 11:28 AM
Dynamite 60A Brushed ESC or Hobbywing Quicrun WP1060? MaX-D Electronics 1 09-12-2014 11:22 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com