Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Futaba 4PV vs Spektrum DX5R

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2017, 06:47 AM   #1

Default Futaba 4PV vs Spektrum DX5R

Howdy.

I'm after a new Tx, I have a CC Mamba X and I like FPV on a crawler. Telemetry add-ons for both Futaba and Spek, are a rout. The Mamba X supports everything I need, basically just Batt V and maybe temp.

Futaba 4PV Pro:
Range
Quality feel (from what I've ready and been told)
Cheaper Rx, + maybe S-FHSS compatibles

Spektrum DX5R Pro:
5Ch
Larger LCD 3.5" vs 3.3"
More ergonomic options OOTB
Easy FW Upgrade
Easy Model DL/Backup
Possibly works with Mamba telemetry.
Cheaper ($25) for me.
Has AVC, I'm curious.

Futaba 4PV Con:
Need to buy an CIU3 to update, WTF! + $45
4Ch
Does not support Mamba X telemetry
US$25 more expensive for me

Spektrum DX5R Con:
Supposedly feels cheap
Some say it they have range issues, but generally 1/2 S-FHSS
Button battery cover has screws, WTF!
More expensive Rx

I have a DX9 for my quads which hasn't given me any issues.

What y'all reckon?

Last edited by raybies_AU; 07-10-2017 at 06:49 AM.
raybies_AU is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-10-2017, 07:02 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Futaba 4PV vs Spektrum DX5R

I really like my DX5R, it is one of those radios that is so comfortable, you almost forget you are holding it. It does not feel as heavy as other radios in its class, perhaps that is where the "feels cheap" comments are coming from.

Range Issues: Have not noticed any, pretty much, if I can see my RC I can control it.

Battery Door: Yes, it is annoying.

RXs: The Spektrum DSMR RXs are pricey, the 2-ch starts at around $30, and the 4-ch is around $60. You can find two-packs of 3-ch DSM2 RXs on Amazon for around $30, I have a set of these and they have worked pretty well.