Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: GreatScott's Radiomaster MT12

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2024, 10:31 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default GreatScott's Radiomaster MT12

Now that I have my MT12 in hand, it is time to start learning how to use it. The radio runs on the EdgeTX software, of which I have come to understand, is quite popular in the flying community. With that, I am a complete and total noob. This, if anything, will be a learning journy. Along the way I plan on sharing my perspective as a noob, and sharing good videos and content I have found. My goal here is two-fold, one, learn how to set up the radio, and two, get the most out of it.

Additionally, having used most major brands of radios, I will compare and contrast the differences between those systems and this one.

In the interim, I plan on continuing to use my Spektrum DX6R and DX5C for most of my daily drivers, and use the MT12 for my less pedestrian builds.

The goods:
I bought the ELRS version of the MT12, with a 4N1 module. ELRS gets crazy far range, and the 4N1 will allow me to use some of the RXs I already have. I also bought a battery, and a number of RXs.

Flattening the Curve...
The learning curve for this system is steep for a beginner, but there are few other radio systems that allow the insane about of configuration and customization. As such, I am approaching this system a little differently.

I have made a test board for testing new configurations before they get installed into a RC. This will also give me a test platform for just tinkering and trying different things without actually having a RC to use them in.

I set up to Traxxas ESCs and motors out of a TRX4 and TRX6 as the base. I found two motor mounts on Thingiverse and designed the servo servo mounts, printing the whole mess in PLA.