Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Formula Offroad

Notices

Thread: The “basic questions for building an FOFF” thread.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2014, 12:43 PM   #1
IPT
Quarry Creeper

Default The “basic questions for building an FOFF” thread.

Hey guys, I’m new to RC and after recently building a Wraith, and being underwhelmed with it’s speed (of course, since it’s a crawler) stumbled into this section. Living in Alaska I’ll be mostly racing in snow, probably more bashing style. Anyway, I’ve been reading a lot of build threads and have some ideas already. I also know there is a lot to learn that a lot of you guys learned already. What parts work well together, what don’t, etc, etc. I thought it might be nice to have a thread where people could all come together and post ideas, specs they’re considering, links to go reads they like or questions. A more consolidated area of knowledge that future builder and I can go to.

What I have already – a Hobbywing 4000KV brushless sensored motor (or I also have a Traxxas VXL 3s ESC and 3500KV motor). Axial wheels, upper and lower links, Traxxas ultra shocks (the short ones). I’m reading about axles here: http://www.axialracing.com/blog_posts/1073900644. My current question is regarding the best frame to build off. Being that I’ll be in snow a lot a little extra clearance would be nice. I figured I’ll use an SCX10 chassis or a Wraith. I think the pro of the SCX10 chassis is I can have multiple body style choices. Other wise I’m not really sure of the pros and cons of one or another as a platform. Anyone care to share their thoughts or experience on that matter?

Last edited by IPT; 05-31-2014 at 12:56 PM.
IPT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-2014, 02:51 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: The “basic questions for building an FOFF” thread.