Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Spare Screws in Your RC Tool Kit?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2014, 07:15 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Spare Screws in Your RC Tool Kit?

I am still pretty new to RC, but am up to six rigs now. I'm upgrading and customizing each one when I'm not simply repairing something that my grandson or I broke! I'm finding more and more that I am missing the ONE screw I need the most when I'm close to the end of a repair or upgrade. If I ever catch Murphy red-handed, I'm gonna kick his... his... well, I gotta be clean, I have a grandson who looks up to me. I'll grab Murphy's ear and twist it a little, then make him write an apology to all of you who he's screwed with over the years!

So anyway, I was going to grab a bunch of screws from Harley Designs, but his website says he no longer carries any HD screws. That was very sad news.

I've also considered going to Tony's Screws and getting a complete set for each of my rigs. However, six complete sets of screws would set me back over $200. That's definitely overkill just to keep some spares on hand.

I've finally decided to check either Fastenall or McMaster-Carr and get some bulk screws. So, I got out my manuals and started making a compilation list of most common sizes, but it was tedious and mind numbing. I stopped for a bit to write this post.

Those of you who have been in this hobby a long time probably have certain specific screw sizes that you always keep spares of. If you are willing to share that info with me, maybe I won't have to keep digging through all my manuals. THANKS! (P.S. - I still won't go easy on Murphy if I can catch him).
MailManX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-19-2014, 07:39 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Spare Screws in Your RC Tool Kit?

I wish I could help you out.........but I did hear Murphy passed his bar exam and is a lawyer.
Wade is offline   Reply With Quote