Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Hi all... 2speed transfer + 3 speed transmission question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2020, 04:09 AM   #1

Cool Hi all... 2speed transfer + 3 speed transmission question

Hi all,

So I have a plan, it's an unusual one and once the project is finally under way I will share the build here and on YouTube ��

I cannot seem to find anyone that has attempted something like this... Any advice and guidance welcome as I have 20+ years RC experience (mad projects mostly ), but am generally new to the crawling scene.

So I have a Trail Stomper chassis, with a Hilux abs body, and I have a 3 speed bruiser type transmission from a P407. The main reason for this is to try something a bit different so I can have 4wd crawling but also make her drift in rwd ;) (well it's got a locked diff and tonnes of torque... so why not lol)

So I've been considering the crawling side of the build and would like to have the ability to overdrive, on the fly. I've come across 2 speed transfer cases, only the issue is that if I use this as intended, all gears will become 4wd.

The box has 0.71:1 and 1.81:1 ratios.

So I'm considering getting one of these and fitting it in line with the rear axle only, thereby giving me selectable front and rear overdrives (but lose the locked centre). To avoid damage where there is grip and using rear bias (1.81) I am then considering to use a one way bearing (or other option? ) On the front drive shaft, so the fronts only turn in 4wd if the rear slips, and if fwd bias is selected, it will overdrive the front and drag the rear.

Obviously I will lose front wheel brake, but then my thought is I could add a disc brake when I modify the driveshaft? Then I can control front and rear braking balance or even control them independently (8ch radio)

Ideas or thoughts welcome. Alloy axles and driveshafts will be added at the same time for strength.