Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > General Scale Talk

Notices

Thread: My first kit build. Gelande II with cruiser body.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2015, 07:25 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default My first kit build. Gelande II with cruiser body.

I received my RC4WD Gelande II with the cruiser body yesterday.

I have never built a kit before but thought I'd give this a try as I love the look of the body and it seemed like a solid kit.

I don't have a step by step process of the build, there are a bunch out there if you look around.

It started off well, the packaging is great, the parts are well organized, the manual is easy to follow. Everything is metal! the only thing I can think of that was plastic is the receiver box and endlinks.

I took apart the transmission, transfer case, and front and rear differentials to grease everything with marine grease. This was a suggestion by many builders I came across online.

After about 7 hours worth of build time across yesterday and today I got to this point. (RC4WD says 2-3 hours for the build)

I don't know why it took me so long other than this being my first build. I followed the instructions and applied loctite as necessary. I had a few minor hang ups along the way, I had some trouble figuring out exactly how to mount the servo and one of the shocks was locked up and wouldn't rebound after being compressed. I added some shock oil and it freed right up. I then filled all 4 shocks with oil.

I did a trial run with the electronics temporarily mounted and everything seems good. But I need to to do some more work to get everything permanently mounted. The receiver box is in the rear. I bought a 6inch servo extension to make the servo cable reach. (I knew ahead of time this would be needed)

What I didn't think about is that if you use the ESC mounting plate with the kit the motor wires will need to be extended also.