Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: what to start with?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2009, 07:30 PM   #1

Default what to start with?

im new to the world of rc crawling and rc's in general. i would like to buy a truck that is good at crawling as well as just going bombing through my back yard. ive been looking at tamiya f350's and the 4 link kits from toughracing.com for them. but i have no idea if this would be a good place to start? any ideas of a better way to go would help!
76cummins is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-05-2009, 07:40 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

i would recommend a kit what ever truck you buy if its available in kit form cause then you know that truck inside and out and can repair or replace and diagnose within minutes
dblrnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 07:49 PM   #3
RCC Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by dblrnut View Post
i would recommend a kit what ever truck you buy if its available in kit form cause then you know that truck inside and out and can repair or replace and diagnose within minutes

X2. Alot of guys will also tell you to stay away from the rtr trucks because the electronics are junk. I on the otherhand disagree. Except for the servo the electronics are not to bad. For someone that is starting out I recommend the axial RTC. Granted it will prolly need a servo soon it will get you into the hobby. If it is go fast you want I would say the RTR, but if your budget allows go with a kit or the ARTR they have the metal links you want and you choose the electronics. Build it the way you want the first time. Just my 2 cents. For someone new to both crawling and RC for that matter, you don't want to spend to much and not like it. I got the ARTR and loved it. Then I got an SCX10 and havnt touched my comp rig in a month.
calikingcrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 08:01 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

Default .