Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: (newb) how to improve this rig?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2006, 01:35 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default (newb) how to improve this rig?

Hey everyone,

I am brand new to RC and bought a RTR TLT based rig. My plan is to own one more or less done to learn it, then get into building. I wanted to post some pics of what I have for suggestions on how to improve it.
(ps- this forum is awesome! I was looking up info for my little walmart xtreme rock machine I used to mess with and ran across this site. I didnt even know RC crawlers existed! thanks for the inspiration )

stats:
15" wheelbase
11" width
ground clearance is right at 3"
moabs on 2.2 rustler wheels
locked rustler tranny
locked TLT axles
55t lathe
hi-tec servos w/ metal gears
4 wheel steering activated by TQ3 w/toggle
chassis is modified TLT cut and bent under
wheel wideners from crawler store
dynamite ESC w/reverse (delayed)
aluminum 4 link suspension
2400 mah peak racing batteries

the truck runs real nice, but gets high centered on the skid plate pretty easily(might be my lack of skills to blame though lol)
what are your recommendations for added strength and capability?
with a 15" wheelbase, what approximate scale body should I be running? currently has an escalade truck, but I am a Jeep guy and would like to swap a CJ body on it.

some pics:

thanks for the help!

Dave
Hardrockguitar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-28-2006, 01:40 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Move the batterys to the axels low cog.Looks good other than that check my link to see my tlt
whalebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 01:47 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

I saw your from raleigh...is that NC? if so check out this thread Attention Carolina Rock Crawlers