Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newbie at a crossroads

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2014, 01:35 PM   #1

Default Newbie at a crossroads

Hello all, newbie here. I purchased a Maxstone 8 last month and have been crawling over anything possible. Naturally I wanted to upgrade the stock 12Turn motors with some Axial 27Turn motors. I was very happy with change in power, but quickly noticed the popping sound of my transmission gears rounding off. I searched the Forums and found Integy has some alloy gears for the IROCK, which appears to be the same at the Maxstone 8. However they rarely have them in stock, and the price will be around $100.00 for a complete set. I have seen the RC4WD Super Bully Comp Axle with Knuckles for about the same price. (The price would be double with both front and rear) Would this be complete overkill? Are they as good as they look. I have been unable to find reviews. I also have seen some used axles for the Exceed Mad Torque both front and rear for this same price. I read they have metal gears. I just would like something reliable that I will not have to worry about later. Has anyone had any experience with either of these?

Thanks for your time
Verewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-25-2014, 01:37 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: Newbie at a crossroads

Don't bother with integy worst company to deal with on warranty issues. RC4wd is by far easier to deal with and a better company

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
timgreen82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 05:51 PM   #3

I have noticed some people saying the same thing about lntegy poor customer service. I did notice many items on RC4WD are discontinued. If I was to purchase an Axle that has been discontinued and have some gears break later on, am I just screwed?
Verewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:54 PM   #4
Rock Stacker