Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Crawler Rookie

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2014, 10:55 AM   #1

Default Crawler Rookie

Been out the RC hobby for lots of years (Gold RC10). Thinking a crawler would be a fun way to go, however, I am a total rookie. There is so much great info to sift through (some is years old or above my head), I want to make sure I am somewhere near the right track. Here's where I have ended up and could use any suggestions, pointers or redirections.

Want a RTR to start with; something I can stick a battery in and crawl/trail...with that being said, I know my obsessive personality will quickly look for upgrades.

Really like the Axial Wraith "Jeep Wrangler Poison Spyder" or similar. Is this the right choice, is there something better for a rook, maybe the Losi "Night Crawler" or something else.

What batteries would you suggest? Charger? Other must haves to so start? Don't have a local shop so relying on all your help...know I appreciate your time helping me out!
UNIDEKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-01-2014, 10:58 AM   #2
MODERATOR™

Default Re: Crawler Rookie

Gold pan. Cool.

Buy an Axial that you like. You will spend some more money. Have a great time. It is, in fact, as simple as that.
EeePee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 11:31 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper

There's a bunch of good information on here, just look through some different sections like Axial wraith then axial scx10 You'll learn about each one then you can choose what you want. For battery I just run a 5000mah 2s dynamite battery in my scx10, works good for me. My opinion max amps are cool and all but I don't think its worth it for the price. Hope that helps a little.
79SCX10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 03:43 PM   #4
Rock Crawler

First off welcome.