Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: First post from a total newbie: 1/10 RTR Crawlers for my 8-year-old and me?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2014, 05:14 PM   #1

Default First post from a total newbie: 1/10 RTR Crawlers for my 8-year-old and me?

Hi all,

So I'm almost 40 and have wanted an RC car since I was a teenager. My daughter has been loving her cheapo Target version for the last 2 years and wants a better rig... so I decided that we'd both get a crawler that we can run around on dirt trails and in the back yard.

Budget for hers is about $200 (max if possible) and $400-450 for mine.

I want them both to be weatherproof so we can run them through the snow and in some small creeks up in the woods. I was leaning toward the Yeti for me, but it sounds like I might break it pretty quickly?

I don't mind having to do some work on them down the road, but I want to make sure I get into a couple of decent rigs that we aren't going to kill on our first day I like building jigs and tools for woodworking and I build my own PCs, so that side of things doesn't intimidate me (maybe scares the hell out of me, because I know I'll eventually want to build my own rig!) ... but I want to start out with a quality RTR if I can.

Thanks for any suggestions! I'll be sure and update with a couple of videos of us tooling around after our shopping spree next week!

Last edited by NerdDoc; 12-27-2014 at 05:51 PM.
NerdDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-27-2014, 05:31 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: First post from a total newbie: 1/10 Crawlers for my 8-year-old and I?

The Redstone crawlers can be had for about $130, can be waterproofed, check the electronics thread for water proofing, and can use axial parts for upgrades
mikro383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 05:36 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: First post from a total newbie: 1/10 Crawlers for my 8-year-old and I?