Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New to RC Cars

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2015, 07:24 PM   #1

Default New to RC Cars

I'm looking at the Axial SCX10 kit. I'm new to RC cars & trucks. I'm thinking of buying a kit with the associated parts to go with the kit. I was thinking that putting the kit together would give me a chance to see how things work on the car and help me when I upgrade or repair in the future. I am retired and have plenty of time to assemble the kit. I would appreciate your opinions on how I should go, RTR or the kit. I have some experience with planes and scale models but no RC car experience.
Thanks, Jim
Cart is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-24-2015, 07:40 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: New to RC Cars

Hi i'm a little new into the hobby now, and glad i bought a kit instead of an RTR.

You have the option to choose the best parts and get to know your rig much better. : )
Bully2RockRomper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 08:32 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

Location: in a tree home atop a redwood tree on the corner of yonder and timbuktoo

The rtr is a nice way to go because everything is included and usually you dont have to purchase anything else to get it running out of the box thus this would be the quickest way to have fun
however
the kits are also a nice way to go because you get to learn how it works and you also have the oppertunity to make it your own as you build it- putting different aftermarket parts on/custom parts of your choice

with that being said i personally would go with a kit over an rtr every time because i usally wind up pulling out most of the stock stuff and replacing it with my choice of parts, and stripping it down numerous times learning what makes it tick

but in the end its your choice of course
lil' bear 4wd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 08:59 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

My preference is kits.