Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Vaterra Ascender or Axial SCX10?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2015, 04:11 AM   #1

Default Vaterra Ascender or Axial SCX10?

Hey guys, I'm new to the RC crawling scene and would like some help deciding between the two specifically the Vaterra Ascender K5 Blazer RTR or the Axial SCX10 Ram Power Wagon.

I initially bought some parts ahead of the rig itself. My charger is a skyrc imax b6ac v2 and batteries are turnigy nanotech 5800mah 2S 30-60C lipos. Was really for the scx10 then I saw my LHS also carried the Vaterra.

I would be using this mostly for trailing/bashing in my yard and nearby areas and don't really wanna join comps yet.

If I understand correctly, the Axial is the older of the two. So more parts support and it's a proven durable chassis. I'm just intrigued with the Vaterra since it looks way more scale, has higher ground clearance due to the smaller axles, and a sharper steering angle. If I do end up going the Vaterra route, will I have to buy the shorter batteries to fit the tray or is there a workaround to this? Should I go for the proven scaler in the scx10 or go for the newer ascender platform?

Last edited by goldcrow; 11-28-2015 at 05:10 AM.
goldcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-28-2015, 04:56 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Vaterra Ascender or Axial SCX10?

Both are great platforms, but for the money, I think the Ascender is a much better value. It includes hardened tranny gears, CVDs, and all aluminum links, and the stock knuckles/chubs are much stronger than Axial's. 2-speed conversion is a nice option. Aftermarket parts support is picking up (SSD, GCM Racing, RC4WD, and STRC all now have Ascender-specific products). And there are plenty of ways to mount a stick pack apart from the floating tray, so don't let that be a deciding factor. I have both, but if I had to have only one, it would probably be the Ascender.