Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Led wiring to CH3

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2018, 04:43 AM   #1

Default Led wiring to CH3

I'm new to the page and also RC crawling. I bought a Everest 7 Pro and have been modifying it. I want to add LEDs to the Body. I have two halo lights 4 LED bulbs and a light bar. I was wondering if I could wire all those together and clip them into my channel 3? Would it overload any thing? Or would it be best to Connected via a 9-volt battery mounted somewhere on the crawler?
Strongmancasey2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-25-2018, 06:14 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Led wiring to CH3

If you are running stock electronics I would be worried about brown out, running a BEC would make sure nothing went wrong. Also, make sure you check the input voltages on the LEDs, some LEDs do not like operating at higher voltages and will burn out when you connect power.

Channel 3:
Are you just trying to power the lights off of the receiver, or are you trying to control them from the receiver?

You can get power from CH3 of your RX, but you will need something else thrown in there (LED controller) if you actually want to turn them on and off. I use a device called a Pico Switch, is basically a small RC controlled relay to control lights and such from aux channels.
Greatscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 07:53 AM   #3

I'm really just wanting a simple on/off light system. Not connected to my controller or anything. Would this work for me if I mount this to my RC also I don't want to burn up my LEDs would I need to splice in something ?

https://www.parts-express.com/9v-bat...8aAhHwEALw_wcB
Strongmancasey2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 09:01 AM   #4
Rock Crawler

What you want is this: Receiver Power Distributor