Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Overdrive/underdrive question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2019, 08:17 AM   #1

Default Overdrive/underdrive question

Hi, I'm new at this so have a question.
I've read posts saying how good OD/UD is but £90 seems a lot so was thinking about tyre sizes. I have a few sets of 1.9 tyres and some are up to 6mm taller. One rotation is 12mm difference so would putting the smaller pair on the back effectively overdrive the front giving the same effect as the OD gears? As the axles remain constant but tyre circumference is different it must have some effect but I can't quite work out what is, if anything.
triafgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-28-2019, 09:06 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Overdrive/underdrive question

It will look silly but yes smaller rear tires Wil give you overdrive. Overdrive is usualy calculated by percentage though. So front diameter/rear diameter*100=% typically you want around 115-130% which people say as the front is 15-30% overdriven

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Voodoobrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 02:22 PM   #3

Yes, the two I have only work out at 108% so to get the right percentage would need a much larger difference and as you say would look odd. Thanks for answering the question. One thing to take away I guess is if you were forced to mix different sizes on axles best to put the smaller ones on the back so that you weren't under driving the front at all which I guess is the worst scenario.
triafgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 09:33 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

i usaly dont like the over / underdrive setups on my scalers but my more comp style type crawler it seems to help one has 6" tires up front and 5.5"tires in the rear and it works great