Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Thinking of building a truck around a GSPEED chassis. Got some questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2020, 06:00 PM   #1

Default Thinking of building a truck around a GSPEED chassis. Got some questions.

I'm new to crawlers but not to RC and I'm up for a challenge. I'd like to build my own truck and I like the GSPEED chassis. Should I start with a builder's kit like the SSD Trail King or should I just piece everything together separately? I know that I'm going to want some trick axles and transmission. I'm just doing this for myself, no real reason other than that. Not trying to do any competing.

I'm kinda going in blind here and I'm trying to learn as much as I can to make sure I don't waste my funds. Thanks for any help!
FloridaST is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-16-2020, 07:33 PM   #2
Gold Star Baby!

Default Re: Thinking of building a truck around a GSPEED chassis. Got some questions.

I think you’re better of piecing it together. If you’re not comping you probably don’t need to spring for the TGH forward motor mount and t-case and can go with a traditional 3 gear and those can be had fairly cheap, the stealth x is a good and nicely priced option too. A trail king donor isn’t a bad idea either but I’m not sure how easily you would be able to get the transmission to mount up properly. It would be a cool build to see though.

If you do piece it together here are some suggestions:

I’d recommend links from hardcore rc. https://hardcore-rc.ecwid.com/GSpeed...nly-p140888561 You’ll need some 67mm chassis braces which you can get from them too.

Panhard (pick the tgh option on hardcore rc to use this panhard mount) https://www.teamgaragehack.com/produ...53788009&_ss=r

Servo Mount (restocks regularly) https://www.teamgaragehack.com/colle...al-servo-mount

Body mounts
https://www.amainhobbies.com/team-kn...abm004/p768825