Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newbie Wants A Crawler But Which One?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2020, 07:48 PM   #1

Default Newbie Wants A Crawler But Which One?

Hear me out before you answer.

I have two reasons to buy a crawler. The first is, for fun. Okay, for the fun.

BUT, the MAIN reason is for work. I inspect homes for a living and I'm tired of crawling under houses. So I'm looking to grab a crawler, attach an HD 1080p camera for FPV, with a gimble(?) so I can take photos of the subfloors, framing, foundation walls and such.

Needs:
1. Low clearance - 10 inches tall or less.
2. 4 wheel, able to climb over 6 inch pipe.
3. Cheap. I'm sorry, but I'm cheap.
4. I'll have to be able to transmit reliably from outside/inside homes, with interference like walls, flooring, and piping.
5. Ability to view the FPV through my android cellphone, and take pictures as well.

Please, help me.
ShaynDaPain is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-28-2020, 07:24 AM   #2

Default Re: Newbie Wants A Crawler But Which One?

Welcome to the site!

I don't know of any good, 1/10th scale crawler that comes with FPV capabilities out of the box. The TRX-4 will be a good base for this project though.
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 09:17 AM   #3
RCC Addict

Many of the current platforms would be a solid base. However, there are some ins and outs. Most of these can climb over a 6 inch or taller obstacles without too much issue. the issue becomes the obstacle itself. Crawling over plastic pipe of 6 in diameter may be a tough one as the tires likely wont get much traction on the pipe and just slide on it, and not crawl up it. Some tires may be better for grip to grab and move up and over larger pipes. Especially plastic ones unless the pipe is somewhat into the dirt and not just setting on top of it.