Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: MN90 Literally Crawling so Slow After Metal Upgrades. Please Help.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2021, 01:58 PM   #1

Default MN90 Literally Crawling so Slow After Metal Upgrades. Please Help.

Hi everyone! I am new to this hobby and so
loving the learning process. This is my first post so please bare with me. I started with a cheap NM90 as my base and tried upgrading everything on it because I love the idea of “building” it from scratch. I even repainted the body and make it look realistic, not the plasticy stock. But after I finally put the internals together, the truck is crawling so slow and the motor is so loud as if the body is too heavy now. Is this set up too weak for the all the metals I put?

Here is my setup:

Servo: WPL 17g 3.5kg, 20A
ESC: 20A Double Sides Brushed
Motor : WPL 180 motor with gearbox
Transmitter/ Receiver: DumboRC X6
Upgraded to metal driving shaft, shocks absorber, steering rod and alloy front and rear axle assembly.
Battery: Li-ion 1500mAh

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
iantaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-23-2021, 03:18 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: NM90 Literally Crawling so Slow After Metal Upgrades. Please Help.

I would first check to see if theres any binding in the drivetrain.

Adding weight will make your motor work harder and accelerate slower but it should not be lowering the top speed (well it will but it shouldn't change by very much). That said it is a pretty small motor and it might possibly be effecting the top speed.

Last edited by HumboldtEF; 08-23-2021 at 03:22 PM.
HumboldtEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2021, 03:37 PM   #3

Default Re: NM90 Literally Crawling so Slow After Metal Upgrades. Please Help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HumboldtEF View Post
I would first check to see if theres any binding in the drivetrain.