Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New rims

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2021, 07:02 AM   #1

Question New rims

Since I am new at this i am having trouble mounting 2.2tires on a bead lock aluminum rims.It’s seems as though the rims don’t have enough space when putting them together. I’m not sure if I need longer screws or maybe a tire bead modification?
Any help or advise would be great . Thank you and Happy Thanks giving
FreddyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-25-2021, 07:39 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: New rims

What wheels and tires are you using? I'm guessing it's proline tires giving you problems?
DRED805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 08:02 AM   #3
Rock Crawler

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreddyJ View Post
I’m not sure if I need longer screws or maybe a tire bead modification?
Probably just need two longer screws to start to "get the sandwich squished together". Then you can add in the stock screws and replace the long ones you used to start. This is actually very common for bead locks.
OnTheTrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 08:39 AM   #4
I wanna be Dave

you just need to try harder
the last thing you want is the bead pulling out of the beadlock
if you just cant get it they do make a tool to that presses the wheels together so you can start the screws
ferp420 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 08:50 AM   #5
Rock Crawler

I got one of these. Very helpful. Could I have made one myself? Sure, but for $14 it's well worth the time savings in my opinion.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/30401126858...Cclp%3A2047675
OnTheTrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2021, 11:13 AM   #6

Thanks guys, I appreciate the help I will give that tool a try and I didn’t realize this was a common issue. Thanks again. 👍
Old 11-25-2021, 11:59 AM   #7
Rock Crawler

Quote: