Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: Salt technique

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2017, 10:04 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Salt technique

Hey guys, I'm trying the "salt technique" to get a rust effect on a current build for the first time. From what I can find, one simply coats the sealed base coat with water, liberally apply salt where you want rust, let dry, paint, then remove the salt and seal. My problem is that I cannot get an even coat of water on the base coat. The water just beads up. I used Tamiya flat clear as a sealant. Do I have to wait 6 months for a complete base coat cure or do I add something to the water? I'm getting no where fast here.
stopmojim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-13-2017, 02:47 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: Salt technique

I'm no expert with salt technique, but what I want when I've done it is exactly what you say is your problem. What I wanted was random shapes in the area of choice, and the salt just sticks there. It then leaves room for "normal" paint areas, as if the paint has flaked off from corrosion rust, ie, rust from under the paint, not rust from say scratches.

Maybe, sot of total rust from say desert sand blasting is what your after? I think, if that's the case then the salt method isn't the best, say something like this
M and M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2017, 03:53 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

Quote:
Originally Posted by M and M View Post
I'm no expert with salt technique, but what I want when I've done it is exactly what you say is your problem. What I wanted was random shapes in the area of choice, and the salt just sticks there. It then leaves room for "normal" paint areas, as if the paint has flaked off from corrosion rust, ie, rust from under the paint, not rust from say scratches.