Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Redcat Crawlers

Notices

Thread: rear lockout

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2014, 02:06 PM   #1

Default rear lockout

gday all im a newbie to rc crawling but im quietly hooked. ive been doing some reading on here and im gunna do quite a few of the mods but first I will do the rear steer lockout. I did some searching but cant find anything, so im asking what hole to hole centres you used to lock it up
cheers
bearz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-2014, 05:05 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: rear lockout

A quick and easy way to lock it out is to remove the servo horn, unscrew the steering link a few turns to lengthen it a little (just under 1 cm should do it) and attach the link directly to the servo. you could put a nut or a few small washers on either end of the rod if you want. I did this when my original servo let out all its smoke and it worked a treat.
Personally i think rear steer is a handy function to have, but thats my oppinion and i don't run it in comps.
If you are going to keep rear steer then fit some tougher servos, with the stocker it struggled to hold the rear wheels straight when you were giving it a hard time, since swapping to metal geared 15kg units they don't budge.

Other methods for locking it out are mentioned in the sticky threads at the top of the list.
Have a good read thru them as they are an absolute wealth of knowledge about the rockslide.

Happy crawling, good to see another aussie on the forums.
Dungas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 11:26 PM   #3

thanks for the info. I have been reading the stickys theres a lot of info out there that's for sure
bearz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 05:24 AM   #4
RCC Addict

I did similar to that but removed the servo and plate, then attached the drag link to one of the axle housing screws. I just put in a longer screw.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk