Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Tamiya Scale Rock Crawlers > Tamiya XC/CC01

Notices

Thread: First Kit Build Ever,CC01

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2013, 06:14 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Talking First Kit Build Ever,CC01

Not entirely a noob here,since I ran and raced RC (from electric to nitro) back between '97 and '04. I just got back into RC this year though,and I've never built a kit...I've never even did much of any wrenching,LMBO,I'm not the most mechanically inclined here. But since discovering crawling/trail running this year,I've been wanting to build one,a scaler. LOVE my AX10 Ridgecrest and SCX10 Jeep Rubi,but they're both RTR's,and I've been reluctant to tear into them,not being mechanically inclined or having any experience. Tower recently had a killer special going where I was able to score this Pajero kit for $187 shipped,and before I knew it,the (most wonderful) wife (in the world!) had one on it's way (my b-day is in 2 days...coincidence? ).

ANYways,having been inspired by some killer builds here,this arrived last eve...

I wasn't able to tear into it last night or today,and am going out of town for the weekend (my family and my folks),so it will be next week before I can get on it,but I'm so dang excited I had to post it anyways (you can snicker and roll your eyes if you like,I don't mind,my Wife did too )

Even though I'm a complete noob to building and "not mech. inclined",not looking to build it stock,looking to make it a decent trail rig I can run while my son runs my SCX10 and not be winched every few feet,and the Pajero really reminds me of a 1:1 Kia Sportage 2 door/soft top I had a few years ago with 33's stuffed up underneath,LOL,so I'm thinking locked and lifted...spoiler shot with the tires/wheels I want to run (Proline Interco TSL's and Axial beadlocks in 1.9)...