Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Team Losi Comp Crawler

Notices

Thread: Why (not) to do the LCC tranny flip

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 01:25 AM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Why (not) to do the LCC tranny flip

Introduction
I’ve just done the “tranny flip” and as of now, before having done a test run, I wish I had it undone!

Background
About me
I’m an engineer and MSc. I don’t like doing things just because someone else says it’s good to do it. I want solid arguments what makes it good. Unfortunately I went on with this flip without many positive arguments...

Why do it? Arguments for and against.
In the case of the tranny flip the arguments I’ve found for it are
a) it straightens the drive shaft (eliminating problems where the drive shafts and suspension links occasionally get in physical contact with each other), and
b) it moves the motor (and thus CoG) forward.

With the LCC suspension very much in stock shape I’ve found absolutely no situations where the drive shafts can touch the links, so that argument is moot unless you’ve messed with the links.
A straightened drive shaft does reduce drag from the joints though, which is a good thing!Moving the CoG forward is also welcome.

The very obvious downside to doing the flip is that the motor and tranny package is also moved some 3mm up and about one centimetre sideways, exposing the motor to the environment and shifting the CoG marginally up and considerably to the side.

My LCC before the flip
The parts that matter are:
  • Generally stock parts, with some exceptions.
  • Battery plate (home made) on the forward upper links. (I’m pretty sure the stock battery plate can’t be used with the tranny flipped.)
  • RC4WD motor with 49mm straight can.
  • 12T pinion, the smallest advisable.
  • Having spent more than half a year tracking down and minimizing all sources of friction I’ve made it run quite well on a brushed motor!

Doing the flip
Parts required