Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Tools, and Procedures

Notices

Thread: heat treating and case hardening

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2017, 08:04 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default heat treating and case hardening

Had the idea of getting some Death Metal Garage AR60 diff skids and getting them either heat treated or case just to see if they would slide better or not. However I have very little experience in this type of process along with not having the equipment either. So I was just wondering if any one here has had experience doing this or knows someone who does?

Or maybe my thought process is way off and my idea is completely garbage?
grunt95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-01-2017, 09:08 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: heat treating and case hardening

Eh, throw a block of paraffin wax in your pocket and give them rub down every now and then like skaters do on rails and ledges.
rngrchad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 07:42 AM   #3

The metal is most likely going to experience a lot of deformation/warping from all of the heat. It's most likely not going to be as easy or cheap as it sounds.

If you're worried about drag don't get diff skids at all. They will just hangup more than the axle. If you want slick get something like Delrin, but that will also gouge much easier than metal so you probably lose some of what you gain.
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 07:54 AM   #4

Look into a sheet of "spring steel". Should be thin enough to manipulate it and hard enough to not gouge.
smitty2919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 09:06 AM   #5
Rock Crawler

Quote:
Originally Posted by JatoTheRipper View Post

If you're worried about drag don't get diff skids at all. They will just hangup more than the axle. .
^ my thinking exactly JTR
rngrchad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 10:00 AM   #6