Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: Noob question about Ascender's kit quality

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2015, 06:57 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Noob question about Ascender's kit quality

I think I have narrowed down my next purchase to Vaterra's Ascender. Since I already have Spektrum TX and RX, I am looking for the kit instead of RTR. Now, being a complete beginner in RC, I am not sure that I would be able to put together a kit. I know how to solder and have built some plastic and paper models in the past including dioramas. I know that this is not super related but just wanted to state that I can handle small parts and follow instructions. I guess my biggest fear is if the parts in the kit need sanding, drilling, fitting, trimming, etc. With plastic models I can always patch if I cut too close but drivetrain on a RC car may not be suitable for patching if I mess something up. So my question to all who built Ascender from ground up: How hard was it? Was there a lot of parts that needed adjustments and trimming before you were able to install them?
drabina is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-16-2015, 07:42 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Noob question about Ascender's kit quality

The Ascender is not hard to build at all. The only modification I remember having to make was sanding the edge of the skidplate to fit into the frame rail on one side. Everything else goes together with no problems.

Read the sticky of things to know before you start building, get a good set of hex drivers, then get to building.
svt923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 08:43 AM   #3

You can put together a kit if you can use hand tools.