Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Vaterra Scale Rock Crawlers > Vaterra Ascender

Notices

Thread: New Ascender RTR out of the box checklist

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2016, 09:02 AM   #1

Default New Ascender RTR out of the box checklist

Hi RCC'ers
Total and I mean total newb here. Not one minute of RC experience so what the heck, dropped the $$$ for a K5 Ascender RTR. Of course I thought RTR meant put in batteries and drive. Done a lot of reading here on the Ascender forum all foreign language to me but I'm stoked to get into it !
So what I'm asking is for a little guidance on what to address with the rig right out of the box. I DO NOT plan do do any upgrades at this point until I learn more and have some experience with the rig.
But.....Things like
"out of phase" axles
Shock adjustment
Bumper tuck
Etc./Suggestions

Thanks much RCC'ers !!

Adub
Adubscsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-07-2016, 09:25 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: New Ascender RTR out of the box checklist

The very first thing I would do, knowing what I know now... Lower the body. You remove the body from the truck and look at the body posts. All 4 have a screw in them. Remove the screw with the 2mm hex wrench. The body post can be moved up or down. Move all 4 posts down 2 holes, and put the screws back in. You will probably have to trim the wheel wells a little bit when crawling over large obstacles. Get a set of curved body scissors, take off very little at a time until the tire clear the openings. Very easy.

You Dont have to spend hardly any money to upgrade this truck. You will have to invest in some tools though.

After lowering body, then do natedogs shock mod. Just those 2 little projects will give you a massive gain in performance for the price of scissors, a drill bit, and a 4$ bottle of shock oil...
rag6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 09:26 AM   #3
Rock Crawler