Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: KOH Jeep

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2013, 11:05 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default KOH Jeep

So I debated whether to start a build thread or not for this rig seeing as I feel like I barely have time to work on it let alone update you all on the progress. But I thought I'd share, get some insight and possibly some help as well. I started with an Axial Wrangler Kit, a Nikko Jeep body, 3/16 brake line and I got to work.

Rear axle is underdriven and front axle has XR10 narrow axle steering mod. Home made delrin beef tubes and aluminum hop-ups all around.

Quick mock up.

This is my first time brazing so I need a little advice. I'm using Harris Safety Silv 56%. Some of the joints look pretty good but some leave a little to be desired. These are the worst joints I've done so far. What can I do to make them better? Do I just not use enough Silver Solder? Sometimes I feel like the more I use the more just runs inside the tube instead of joining the two together.

Anyway. Let me know what you all think. Good or bad.
Archangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-06-2013, 12:43 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: KOH Jeep

tighter fitment of the tubes where they meet will make for better and nicer looking joints all around
FATBOYrs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:54 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

when that happens to joints im brazing together I pull the heat back some so the solder barely heats up and melts.. seems to fill the voids, and the better the fitment with a fishmouth would also help
blakeski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 01:06 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper