Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial AX-10 Scorpion

Notices

Thread: 4-Link Setup Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2012, 08:21 PM   #1

Default 4-Link Setup Question

I've changed the links on my AX10 to a 4link setup and added some spacers so I can reach the further hole in the chassis. Problem is I only have .5" threaded rods and cant fit more spacers and with that configuration the axle input shaft sits horizontal compared to the original setup which was pointing a bit upwards as seen in the photo below with the green line. Front is old setup back is new setup. Will do both once I solve this axle clocking problem. Do I really need to match the position of the shaft like it was originally or I can leave it at 90 degrees. Would this cause issues with the MIP drive shafts that I have comming... I'm new to this hobby and while I have a lot of modding experience this is a new teritory for me.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated...

Last edited by essence25; 04-09-2012 at 04:51 PM.
essence25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-07-2012, 08:31 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: 4-Link Setup Question

Search: "how to make links". Your rear upper links aren't mounted in the stock location on the chassis; that is what is causing the difference in pinion angles. You can solve your problem by simply moving them to the stock location, but I think the higher holes are better. I would make some new longer upper links so you can use those higher holes and have the pinion angled upwards. I would shoot for level to the ground upper links with the shocks halfway compressed. You can use spacers to raise the uppers at the axle side to accomplish this. Hope that helps!

Last edited by opek; 04-07-2012 at 08:41 PM.
opek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2012, 08:44 AM   #3
Proverbial threadkiller

Quote:
Originally Posted by essence25 View Post