Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial RR10 Bomber
Loading

Notices

Thread: I need a stainless steel chassis?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2022, 06:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2
Default I need a stainless steel chassis?

I am looking for a stainless steel scale chassis to finish up my Bomber! So who are the best fabricators for a chassis?
Overlandgxv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-01-2022, 12:13 PM   #2
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 89
Default Re: I need a stainless steel chassis?

RC Speedy https://www.rcspeedyfab.com/?m=1
RCCasper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 07:59 PM   #3
Rock Crawler
 
DRED805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 551
Default Re: I need a stainless steel chassis?

I've got a titanium Speedy B1 being built right now. Stainless is too heavy.
DRED805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2022, 03:49 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Caldwell ID.
Posts: 4,143
Default Re: I need a stainless steel chassis?

200 grams between ti and SS.
lonleycreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2022, 08:01 PM   #5
Rock Crawler
 
DRED805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 551
Default Re: I need a stainless steel chassis?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonleycreeper View Post
200 grams between ti and SS.
40% lighter... makes a big difference in an RC car.
DRED805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2022, 07:43 AM   #6
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: So Cal
Posts: 958
Default Re: I need a stainless steel chassis?

What it the application of your build? A polished SS chassis would look cool, along with a boat load of VP parts and custom paint. Just curious, what is wrong with the OEM cage? It is fairly easy to alter the stocker with 1/4" HR tube, .060 wall thickness. M3 hardware fits perfectly, welds easily as well.
MAC FAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2022, 03:29 PM   #7
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,069
Default Re: I need a stainless steel chassis?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAC FAB View Post
What it the application of your build? A polished SS chassis would look cool, along with a boat load of VP parts and custom paint. Just curious, what is wrong with the OEM cage? It is fairly easy to alter the stocker with 1/4" HR tube, .060 wall thickness. M3 hardware fits perfectly, welds easily as well.

Tig welding? Hr meaning hot rolled?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
CM9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2022, 08:16 AM   #8
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: So Cal
Posts: 958
Default Re: I need a stainless steel chassis?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CM9000 View Post
Tig welding? Hr meaning hot rolled?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Exactly. The tubing also migs (GMAW) well with .025 wire if you donít have a tig setup.

20190110_190608 by MAC FAB, on Flickr

Last edited by MAC FAB; 06-07-2022 at 08:25 AM.
MAC FAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



I need a stainless steel chassis? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom made stick chassis build thread, clod axles and stainless steel backbone... Master Basher General Crawlers 5 08-02-2008 06:52 PM
stainless steel chassis? brushless losi Newbie General 2 04-06-2006 08:43 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com