Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: Scratch build 73 bronco

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2014, 11:17 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Scratch build 73 bronco

This build is close to being done at this point but im gonna do a small build thread on it anyway. I started with a piece of 1/2x1/2 inch square tubing. Bent it to a cardboard template i made to fit the body.
Then i drilled the holes for the skid, cross members and other mounting holes. After all the holes i could think of were drilled i cut the tube in half on a band saw.

Next i made a skid plate. I went with standard scx width so if i want to use scx bumpers they will be easy to bolt right on.

I wanted to go with a cms setup. Its my first attempt at this and i havent ever seen one in person so it could be interesting.
Jcplante is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-02-2014, 12:56 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Scratch build 73 bronco

I love those chassis.I've built 5 or 6 of them over the years....Great start. Keep it coming.
T I N Y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 06:23 AM   #3
Rock Crawler

looks great man. cant wait to c the other goodies u have saved for this thing!
rockrigcustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 06:51 AM   #4
Rock Crawler

Tranny all bolted up for now. Im not sure if it will stay here or not.

Im working on a micro scaler and i wanted to build a transfer case for it. I figured i would try to build a 1:10 scale one first as it should be a little easier then a 1:24 one. So here it is

I used 3 pinions and 3 titanium shafts all 3 pinions were 32p 13 tooth so the gear ratio will be 1:1. the shafts sit in some bearings that are pressed into the case.

I got the tranny bolted up front and the transfer case bolted on the skid. Seems like it will work just fine
Old 03-02-2014, 07:39 AM   #5
Quarry Creeper