Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial SCX-10

Notices

Thread: SCX10 brushless or 2 speed upgrade?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2017, 08:39 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default SCX10 brushless or 2 speed upgrade?

Hi Guys, I'm new to crawlers and am really enjoying them. My son and I got a Bomber RR10 and SCX10 for Christmas.

I've read about the 2 speed gearbox upgrade to make the cars a bit faster for zooming around so you don't sacrifice the crawler ability.

My son is young (6) so I particularly did not want really fast cars like a SC truck which would likely get destroyed quick smart.

Basically, an upgrade that would give us some decent speed for doughnuts and small jumps which wouldn't destroy the cars would be great.

I'm experienced with RC helicopters and have a good charging rig so a brushless lipo setup would be a possibility though I particularly picked 5000ma NiMH as they are much safer for a 6yo.

If a brushless mod would still provide the same crawling ability (i.e. just as good) but also some decent speed, and not cost the earth I'd be happy to go that route but if a simple gearbox swap would work with the existing setup that would be a great option.

We get really long drive times with the NiMH's which I find absolutely fantastic coming from the 2minute 30 second world of 3D heli's!

I would prefer reliability over anything though. If I would need to beef up the cars radically I might need to rethink as I got tired of spannering all the time on the heli's.

Any info would be greatly appreciated!
CoolRunning is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-03-2017, 09:41 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: SCX10 brushless or 2 speed upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolRunning View Post
Hi Guys, I'm new to crawlers and am really enjoying them. My son and I got a Bomber RR10 and SCX10 for Christmas.