Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Wraith

Notices

Thread: How to get more articulation and add wheel weight???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2015, 09:37 PM   #1

Default How to get more articulation and add wheel weight???

So I just got my wraith last week and drove it for the first time today. I'm new to crawling (been driving a Trekker for two months, highly modified) but want to take it up a notch and go more Serious! I immediately know the changes I am going to make, like moving battery forward, I already lowered the shocks, I'm going to fab up a better steering linkage and other things, but what I want to know is how do I get better articulation out of the stock shocks? I am looking to make this a primo rock crawler. I'm interested in crawling only, so I want maximum torque and huge articulation! I know I need the ride height lower and more weight up front and out on the wheels! SO, what do you all suggest for better articulation, better low end torque (gear-wise) and how should I add weight on my wheels to get the weight out on the axles?
On my Trekker I cut the Springs a little bit in order to lower ride height and also reduce the tension from the springs in order to allow the axles to flex much easier. It worked great! Would this theory work on my wraith to achieve the same results?

Thanks anyone for your tips in order to help me make this thing a killer crawler!

-Clint
rockinclint is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-30-2015, 09:53 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: How to get more articulation and add wheel weight???

Well you can cut down the stock bump stops in the shocks, that's about it. Really more articulation isn't that useful, getting the weight as far forward and low as possible and minimizing torque twist is what's going to make the big difference. Also make sure to flip the lower link mounts if you haven't already.