Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Yeti
Loading

Notices

Thread: Sway bar set up

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2014, 07:02 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ?
Posts: 5,055
Default Sway bar set up

Has anyone found a better sway bar set up.
sally1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-06-2014, 02:20 AM   #2
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontherocks
Posts: 1,973
Default Re: Sway bar set up

never messed with it other than new links. Does its job well
gottorque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 10:45 AM   #3
Im Brandon
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 8,156
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by sally1800 View Post
Has anyone found a better sway bar set up.
Curious, whats wrong with the stock swaybar on your Yeti?
Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 11:27 AM   #4
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mid Missouri
Posts: 135
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Since the right ears are listening.....

That sway bar to rear body interference is especially annoying. Not saying it really effects anything but my OCD, just an annoyance.

Otherwise, I'm extremely happy with the out of box performance of the sway bar.
Jethrobodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 11:33 AM   #5
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Weston
Posts: 1,320
Default Re: Sway bar set up

The binding drove me crazy also. I just bent it very slightly, no binding now.
Rjohn929 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 11:37 AM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
binaryterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,584
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon View Post
Curious, whats wrong with the stock swaybar on your Yeti?
Far too stiff.
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 05:48 PM   #7
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontherocks
Posts: 1,973
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryterror View Post
Far too stiff.
CFM makes a disconnect kit. Or you can get some smaller diameter piano wire and bend it up to fit.
gottorque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 07:00 PM   #8
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ?
Posts: 5,055
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon View Post
Curious, whats wrong with the stock swaybar on your Yeti?
Nothing I feel that they are working well. I think all plastic will start to flex and get soft fast.
sally1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 07:01 PM   #9
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ?
Posts: 5,055
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon View Post
Curious, whats wrong with the stock swaybar on your Yeti?
Edit ..

What have you found in your testing?
sally1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 07:55 PM   #10
5th D Owner/Driver
 
cboggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Snoqualmie, Wa.
Posts: 1,916
Default Re: Sway bar set up

So whats the rate of the stock sway bar, soft, med, firm?
cboggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 08:24 PM   #11
I wanna be Dave
 
binaryterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,584
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by gottorque View Post
CFM makes a disconnect kit. Or you can get some smaller diameter piano wire and bend it up to fit.
No way I'd disconnect, not crawling.

Smaller diameter wire and still thread it 3mm so the sway ends screw on? Not worth the time and how poor that will work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sally1800 View Post
Nothing I feel that they are working well. I think all plastic will start to flex and get soft fast.
Plastic does nothing but add scale. The rods are U bent with threads on the end for the rod end to screw onto. The long side pieces are really just "pretty" and not part of the sway bar. You can run it without the scale looking arms if you want actually.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cboggs View Post
So whats the rate of the stock sway bar, soft, med, firm?
Per Brandon, Soft is the stock bar.

Last edited by binaryterror; 10-07-2014 at 05:27 AM.
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 12:18 AM   #12
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: crawlifornia
Posts: 1,606
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by sally1800 View Post
Edit ..

What have you found in your testing?
he found that it works fine.


the plastic does not flex as the Sway bar runs through the middle of it. Have you seen it flex?
rockhugger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 01:09 PM   #13
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tuxedo NY
Posts: 576
Default Re: Sway bar set up

I'd like a softer sway bar option, and maybe one that has a center disconnect.
Turtlejon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 04:09 PM   #14
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 332
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Anyone running one without the sway bar?
stonecold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 03:00 PM   #15
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Hills
Posts: 493
Default Re: Sway bar set up

I'd like a stiffer bar. But I'd like something like the d-lux unit with separate arms/ bars. And more options for mounting leverage and bar "stiffness"
terrible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 03:51 PM   #16
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: nor cal
Posts: 265
Default Re: Sway bar set up

I tried running with out it. not the thing to do. so new links and moved it to the most out ward spot and for me its a lot better, keeps it planted more.. still playing with it...
Attached Images
  
bill c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 08:13 AM   #17
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Pilipinas
Posts: 377
Default Re: Sway bar set up

What does the three setting holes do? What's the diff?
dextan22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 09:06 AM   #18
Im Brandon
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 8,156
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by dextan22 View Post
What does the three setting holes do? What's the diff?
Give people options if they decide to play with the wheelbase. You want to keep the swaybar arms within their operating range so you don't get any binding, or worse have them over extend when the rear suspension droops.

There are also longer swaybar arm ends in the spare parts bag for even more adjustment.
Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 12:08 PM   #19
Come and take them!®
 
Hunter711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rolling Hill's of Maryland™
Posts: 971
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Thanks B. These are the kind of posts that are appreciated.
Hunter711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 01:23 PM   #20
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 256
Default Re: Sway bar set up

Interesting post there, Brandon. Let me put something else to you along these lines then; running stock sway bar settings, the spare tyre mod blocks suspension travel at its last stages of movement (it hits the tyre itself of course).

Is there a setup to avoid this happening, either using the extensions you mention above or some other method?

Thanks
Zombi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Sway bar set up - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HR sway bar Quartermaster Axial Wraith 2 12-10-2011 06:49 PM
sway bar muddeprived General Crawlers 9 09-12-2007 09:57 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com