Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Yeti

Notices

Thread: Basic (inexpensive) Decent Sensored Motor/ESC ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2015, 10:46 PM   #1

Default Basic (inexpensive) Decent Sensored Motor/ESC ?

Newbie here: Looking to get a Yeti kit and this will be my first "real" RC. I have a couple of ECX 1/18 trucks that my son and I mess around with but nothing of real quality.

Looking to mostly bash, but would still like sensored for more control at slower speeds. I am planning to run 3S and don't really need any better quality than the RTR motor/ESC. If it was sensored I would get that, due to the bang for your buck factor. Waterproof is preferred...although not sure what the limitations are with what I am looking for.

Recommendations would be much appreciated. Thanks.
dnadrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-30-2015, 10:55 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Basic (inexpensive) Decent Sensored Motor/ESC ?

You won't find a factory water proof system unless you bring out the big bucks. My recommendation is buy a used Mamba Max Pro ESC and a new Hobbywing XERun SD 3656. Thats what I did and I'm at about $150 for the system.
fr8cture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 11:12 PM   #3

Thanks. Hadn't considered used....how safe is that with an ESC? Do I need that much quality in the ESC. (Mamba Max Pro)

What kV SD3656 are you running? This looks like a good reasonable option.

Thanks again for the quick reply to the post....really appreciate it.
Old 07-30-2015, 11:18 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

I have the 4000KV. Yes I wouldn't go with anything cheaper as far as an esc. Even hobbywing esc is up there in price.
Old 07-30-2015, 11:30 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr8cture View Post
I have the 4000KV. Yes I wouldn't go with anything cheaper as far as an esc. Even hobbywing esc is up there in price.
Okay....thanks for the advice.