Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Spektrum DX3C Backlight Mod

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2012, 12:56 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Post Spektrum DX3C Backlight Mod

I got into rc heli's last year and ever since I've always noticed that other guys had backlights on their Spektrum DX6i's. I know Spektrum's higher end transmitters have them, but I figured it couldn't be that hard to do.

I'm not an expert on this stuff so please don't bash.
And I am NOT responsible for any damage etc.
And once you open up and play with your TX you void your warranty.

As far as I know, a traditional backlight can be made using an EL panel (electroluminescent) or some form of LEDs. The EL stuff also comes in the form of wire know as glow wire, which is also used in the rc heli/airplane world. EL panels run on AC power so they most often come with a DC inverter to use with batteries. EL panels are very thin and flexible allowing them to fit perfectly in tight spaces, such as behind your TX screens. Some members on here offered backlight kits, but sadly no longer do.

HobbyKing sells an LED backlight that uses a thick piece of lexan with 2 LEDs molded into one end. A chromed film is attached around the edges, preventing light from escaping, and a white film is attached to both faces to allow the light to show up. The LED backlight is nice because you don't need an inverter, it is very cheap, and is simple. However, HobbyKing's is made for a Turnigy/Flysky TX, so you will need to do some modifying. Here is a very good tutorial for a DX6i on HeliFreak.com The downside to HK's LED backlight is that it is very thick (2mm), which is way too thick for the DX3C's space.

Before I tested this mod on my DX6i, I thought I'd used my DX3C as a guinea pig. Plus, I just recently had to crack it open to fix a broken steering wheel tension spring so I'm comfortable playing with it now.

Parts: