Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Non LED head lamps

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2013, 11:54 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Non LED head lamps

Ok so I did a search on how I should power my head lamps and didn't see much other than powering up LED's. I've decided to go with low voltage incondesant type bulbs as to stick with the scale apperance of the truck (Trailfinder 2) I tried powering them off of the reciver which didn't look to bad, but they were rather dim looking. This may be the fact that I just installed the 2S lipo battery without charging it into the truck. I just wanted to see how bright they would be. Any way. Has anyone powered up 8 6volt - incondesant type bulbs off of the BEC with rather good results? My next step is to just run them off of a 9v... which works great, but would raher use my reciever. I'm still quite new to all of this so I'm sure theres something obvious I'm missing out on like an external BEC? Would that give me more voltage to the head / tail lamps? Perhaps there's an adjustable BEC?

Last edited by tokdl; 10-30-2013 at 12:01 PM.
tokdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-30-2013, 12:41 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Non LED head lamps

I would suggest that you avoid using a 9 volt battery to power your lights because 9 volt batteries are expensive. Use your rig's lipo battery to run your lighting if you can because it will most likely be protected from over discharge by your ESC's lipo cutoff.

Is 2S lipo isn't enough for your lights, get yourself a 3S lipo (assuming that the lights will run at about 12 volts) and one of those plug in lipo alarms to protect it.

Have an extra channel on your remote and want to turn the lights on and off? I suggest one of these:

Remote Switch for LEDs with Dim function

I know it says LED all over it, but it will work your incandescent bulbs too.
heyok is offline   Reply With Quote