Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: How long will a lipo retain its charge

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2013, 10:47 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default How long will a lipo retain its charge

I'm new to the crawling and trailing section of rc but not rc itself. After I finish my exo kit I'm getting a wraith for crawling and trailing. I don't live really close to any place that's worth spending your time on but there is a REALLY good area about a hour away. When I get my wraith and I take it out there, is it possible to charge two or three lipos, throw them in a day pack and once im out there on the trail and a battery dies replace it with a charged one in the pack and so on?

long question short
how long would a fully charged lipo retain its charge on the trail while not in use and not plugged in to a charger.

And I'm guessing based on my pass semi knowledge of lipos , that given a lipo will last about 45mins to an hour or longer, correct me if I'm wrong, would the 3rd lipo be charged at all by the time I got to it?

Hope I didn't blather on too much

Thanks, much appreciated
12stepRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-12-2013, 10:55 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: How long will a lipo retain its charge

They will last for sometime. I regularly go out with 2 4000mah 3s batteries and they will give me over 2 hours of driving. Lipo's dont lose charge all that quickly once disconnected. I have used lipo's that I charged the evening before and they have been fine

Best bet is to get a small lipo checker. Not only will it let you know what the cells are at before you use them, you can check you esc cut off is working at the right voltage.

I have one like this. It's very small and compared with an expensive shop one it is as accurate.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DYN4071-Dyna...item53fe515d25

Last edited by M1tch; 12-12-2013 at 10:59 AM.
M1tch is offline   Reply With Quote