Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Micro Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Sumo Metal Ford

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2015, 07:55 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Sumo Metal Ford

Ok, here we go. Got my feet wet with X-mods, and finally pulled the trigger and bought an even more "hobby grade" rig. Chose the Sumo after a lot of thinking and asking a bunch of you questions, and decided for the sum of its parts, and what I won't likely use, I like the sumo for the more scale axles and t-case/trans, and for a rig this size, I don't want to spend more than an "almost new" one on Amazon. Happy B-day to me.

I am a salesman by trade, Car parts. I also talk too much and use a lot of words, my college professors hated it too, they got 30 page novellas when they wanted a 10 page dry ass report-lol. I have this old 79 Ford model I shortened WB over ten years ago on, but was bought used on Evil Bay when I was static modeling, before I considered RC'ing one. PO glued doors back on, crummy paint, been stripped and repainted a few times. I want a Metal Masher style metal body, and here's what I'm going to try and do and have already done-

Been practicing mold making with silicone caulk, corn starch and mineral spirits, works pretty well, keep it thin! Used to make molds, don't want to invest a ton for a Toy truck just now, kids, dog, 1:1 etc..lol made a few pulls in resin, even made hood in resin pressing orig into oil clay first, it worked better than silicone since that method is hard to brace and keep its shape, but ultimately decided body was wrecked anyhow, and id follow Mr Mashers suggestion and pull skins from the styrene model itself Another hint, I used olive oil cooking spray misted as mold release, again, being cheap. It works well to gently strip paint and primer, and NOT soften styrene like goof off or other cleaners I've used, or even oven cleaner.