Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New to electric R/C build help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2013, 10:13 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default New to electric R/C build help

I am new to the Electric RC world. I really like the ease of tuning. I know you can get technical with this as well, which i plan on as soon as i get my feet wet and do some more research.

So on to my "Build"

I have purchased NOTHING yet. I want to make sure i get the right motor, esc, battery, bec... before i start my build.

My base will be the Axial scx-10 Wrangler G6.

My objective is to have a rig that can "bash" when i want it to, and i can still crawl and climb when i want to as well. i am NOT planning on doing Comps. I do NOT want this to be a $1000 rig right off the bat.

I have seen people put their ESC's inside water tight boxes (i feel this isnt the best idea as of overheating) What are your thoughts on Water proof ESC's?

Traxxas TQi 4 Channel Radio w 5 Channel RX TRA6508 | eBay I was thinking about running this for my controller/receiver.
my add-ons that i want include but not limited to, DIG tranny, lights, winch on front bumper, and maybe one on back bumper as well. These add-ons may be a ways down the road. trying to not get ahead of myself. Just want to make a nice base that i can build off of.

TowerHobbies.com | Tekin FX-R ESC/35T Crawler Motor Combo Motor/esc
^^^ This is kind of what i have been leaning towards but i am not exactly sure what the "TURN" means in regard to the motors. To my understanding the lower 'T' motors will get you moving faster but with less torque. please correct me if im wrong.

For battery i THINK 2 cell LiPo with 4000mah would suffice for my needs (again please correct me if i am completely wrong) I have seen that the battery placement on this stock rig (scx10 wrangler G6) is too high, what do you suggest to correct this issue?