Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Hello from FL new to crawlers got a drag brake question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2017, 10:06 PM   #1
Bpw

Default Hello from FL new to crawlers got a drag brake question

Ok so I'm a newbie to crawling but not to RC. My first crawler is a losi night crawler. I put a brushless hobbywing 120a esc in I had laying around and a brushless sensored novak 13.5t I run 2s on it and it's a freaking beast. To me at least, I'm very impressed with this thing.

My question is, since it has the worm gears do I need to apply the drag brake? Esc is fully programmable so I can enable it if it'll be benificial?

Second, what other upgrades are gonna give me a significant difference? I just crawl around on some rocks and logs I have in my back yard. I make a "course" and rearrange it every so often. I do like to keep it challenging.

I'm thinking about 4 wheel steering, I'm never gonna comp it so i don't care about classes. I care about performance.

And finally, I got a losi micro crawler (1/24) the other day. Sweet little rig again very impressed with what this thing can handle. Any other micro owners out there?

-Brian
Bpw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-22-2017, 10:44 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Hello from FL new to crawlers got a drag brake question

First question: not really. The worm gears usually hold well enough on their own, but if they don't, you certainly won't hurt anything by adding on some drag brake through the ESC.

Second question: Different tires will make the biggest difference in performance over RTR. I would check out either Ottsix Voodoo tires or really anything from Proline.

If you want to install the parts for 4ws, I would go for it. The only downside is more parts to break, but that isn't really a concern since you aren't comp-ing (CoG would take a slight hit, but again that won't matter while backyarding).