Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Complete Noob, lots o questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2019, 08:29 AM   #1

Post Complete Noob, lots o questions

So, I've been doing rock crawling and offroading for several years, thinking about getting an RC toy to play with.

Right now, I'm torn between an Axial (maybe SCX10), a Cross HC6 (used to have an M35A2, so always have a sweet spot for them), or a Cross HC4 (just cause I like the HC6 and think the HC4 with only 2 axles and more simple suspension setup may allow for easier future upgrades.

What I'd like to do with it:
1. Get into RC crawling and fun. Learn the ropes
2. Have fun building it (leaning more towards Cross for this reason)
3. Accessorize... thought about adding a plow to it, or small snowblower and using it on the driveway... why i think the HC6 with a little weight in the back may make a GREAT candidate for this.
4. Do some crawling... maybe build a course one day to play on. In general, just have fun with it.

I think the Axial platforms lend themselves to a much wider aftermarket... more axle/suspension choices, seats, and the list goes on. Cross seems like a much more intricate build, still respectable quality, but when it comes to upgrades, it may be a much more DIY fab and make it work approach.

So, what I'd like to know:
1. For getting into casual RC world, with the desires I mentioned above, whats the right RC for me and why? Is there another I should consider?
2. Those that have experience with both Cross and Axial, specifically the HC4/6 and SCX10 platforms, can you comment on what you like/dont like/would do again?
3. Axial: Would you get a RTR kit, or get the builder kit, buy the body, and piece the rest together with selected stuff...