Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Paint and Body

Notices

Thread: masking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2013, 08:11 PM   #1

Default masking

hey everyone I was just in the process of masking a body to paint. Basically I'm painting the body Orange and the bumber, fender flares, sideskirt, etc some various bits Black.

I was basically just masking off the body to paint all the other stuff black when it dawned on me that I am wasting my time? Could I just paint the whole darn thing Orange then go back and paint the bits Black that I want? It's not like Orange is going to show through Black once it's dark enough yeah? I guess what I'm saying is Mask off the headlights etc...or everything I don't want ANY paint on, paint orange, then paint whatever black I want. I'm a huge painting noob so sorry if this seems really stupid haha.

I'm basically making this thing. For the other black stuff on the body like near G4 challenge and the other black design I was just going to paint that over top of the orange as well once done.

naossoan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-11-2013, 09:04 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: masking

If you're doing lexan that you paint on the inside, you mask the things you don't want the minor color (so in your case the things you want black). Then you spray it orange, peel off the masking, and spray everything black. The black backs the orange nicely.

Now, if it's a hard body and you are painting on the outside, I like to paint the black stuff first. Then, let it dry for a while and once dried (usually a day) I'll mask over what I don't want orange and hit the body with the orange. When you peel off the masking, you'll have nice sharp lines from the masking tape. Try to pick up some of the thin tape at the hobby shop. Tamiya makes some nice 3,6, and 9 mm tape that I use all the time and it makes great edges.
ik632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:21 PM   #3