Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Rally

Notices

Thread: Marcod13's Subaru WRX STI XV-01

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2013, 06:13 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Marcod13's Subaru WRX STI XV-01

Hey everyone im new to the forum and ive been looking up and it for a while now and have noticed that a few members have built some XV-01 kits. I myself have been looking at the kits for a while now and i finally picked one up this week. My main focus of this thread is to discuss the chassis and the long term test/use of the vehicle, i will update it periodically. I know that many want to buy this kit, but most have concerns since its rather new so consider this thread a source for review.

I am going to be building the kit to Tamiya spec, i have built at least 4 Tamiya kits before and they have all gone together so simply and straight forwards. I have never built a belt-driven touring car before so im rather excited.

I just bought the base kit, the one that comes with the 2009 Subaru WRX STI body set and Johnson motor. I have heard that using the kit supplied motor yields incredible 'scale' speed results, but im going to take the brushless route.

For that matter i am installing a Castle Creations Sidewinder 3 ESC, as well as a NeuCastle 4600kv 4 pole motor.

Other electronics:

HPI MG SB-5 Servo (had this one laying around so figured why not)
FlySky GTB 2.4GHz Transmitter (these Tx and Rx setups are not that appreciated in the RC world, however for simple bashing outside race use, i find them to be perfect and economic)
7.4v 2s lipo 40C

The Hop-Ups that i feel are necessary for the kit are as follows ( i have ordered them all, just waitng for arrival):

Tamiya Reinforced Drive Belt No. 54448 (i feel this to be needed for a brushless setup, longterm of course, but im more than sure the stock ones hold up just fine)
Tamiya Slipper Clutch No. 54378
Tamiya Differential Cross Shaft (kit supplied ones are made of resin) No. 54311