Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > 1.9 Scale Rigs
Loading

Notices

Thread: Brushless (of course) F-350 Hi-Lift

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2006, 06:33 AM   #1
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 8,008
Default Brushless (of course) F-350 Hi-Lift

No, the truck's not here yet, but when do I ever start a build thread when I have all the parts? My F-350 Hi-Lift is getting a Novak Crawler system, JR digital steering servo, FM receiver and a memory in my R-1. So all that stuff is worth $350, and I haven't even seen the kit yet.

I've also whipped up some custom wheels for it, something I feel is appropriate for a big Ford truck. You'll see them a little later once I start building.

At least I got the Novak for free Start the hate train rollin'.
microgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-17-2006, 08:37 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rochester
Posts: 131
Default

You suck... here I was all exited to see somone with a Hi-Lift build :-p can't wait to see it when you get it!
chaotic_life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 08:59 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orlando
Posts: 7,420
Exclamation

Got my both my Novaks for free I can't wait to see what your crazy mind comes up with goat.All I know is you need to do the famous paint scheme you're known for.Can't wait!
ColquittCustom405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 09:22 AM   #4
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Aroostook county
Posts: 1,271
Default

WHY...WHY!!! HOW CAN YOU DO THIS TO ME!??!?!!?!?!?1? ARHGHGHHGHhhhhhh
trickedoutTLT06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 09:32 AM   #5
Debunking old stereotypes
 
freetimecrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 1st and Amistad
Posts: 2,260
Default

There is a F-350 Hi-lift build thread from a guy from like Norway or something on Scale4x4. Very detailed, he shows pic's of the new axles side by side with tlt axles and alot of other pic's with his thread.
freetimecrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 12:03 PM   #6
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Salem, Orcrc
Posts: 756
Default

any chance you could post a link, i cant find it.
clod booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 12:38 PM   #7
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: White Lake
Posts: 764
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clod booster
any chance you could post a link, i cant find it.
Heres one http://www.scale4x4rc.org/forums/showthread.php?t=6744
Bam Bam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 02:23 PM   #8
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: fremont
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by microgoat
No, the truck's not here yet, but when do I ever start a build thread when I have all the parts? My F-350 Hi-Lift is getting a Novak Crawler system, JR digital steering servo, FM receiver and a memory in my R-1. So all that stuff is worth $350, and I haven't even seen the kit yet.

I've also whipped up some custom wheels for it, something I feel is appropriate for a big Ford truck. You'll see them a little later once I start building.

At least I got the Novak for free Start the hate train rollin'.
how did u get a novak for free!
RickSDMF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 03:05 PM   #9
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC
 
JohnRobHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Volt up! Gear down!
Posts: 20,284
Default

Micro was the Beta tester for the novak system. Werent they supposed to get rid of the locked rotor detection? Mine still has it.

This is gonna be one hella fun rig!
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 04:32 PM   #10
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 8,008
Default

letter to Novak

You might say the whole thing was my idea I was sandbagging the response back from them, as I was under a veil of secrecy at that point. Didn't want to spill the beans too soon.

John, the LR protection is still there, but I found it only kicks in when your pack gets low.

Last edited by microgoat; 09-17-2006 at 04:38 PM.
microgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 06:48 PM   #11
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 183
Default

The rich get richer... JK Guess it pays to know your sh!t, and know who to fling it at! You think Tamiya will incorporate enough balls into the 350 for a brushless setup without grenading the tranny? Can't wait to see the write up on this one.
All Out Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 06:55 PM   #12
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 8,008
Default

From what I've seen of it, the tranny uses mostly big-rig parts, and those are plenty burly. They're designed to haul around a heavy-arse tractor-trailer rig, and a lot of guys put some heavy loads (ever weigh a Tamiya RC tank?) on those trailers with no trouble at all. The 3-speed in the Knight Hauler (ran a borrowed trailer a few times) and the Mog (brushless 8-pound rig) are both holding up just fine. I'm not worried about the tranny at all.

The first thing to give will be the wheel hexes. After that, probably axle shafts unless you adjust the slipper. And I intend to use the slipper. One more thing to play with

BTW, Paal (Wild Trial) on Scale4x4 has a video of his chassis running. It's posted on the thread linked above. Don't expect much articulation from this thing; even with the softest suspension setup, it hasn't got much flex. But it crawls pretty well, and he's got a great crawl spot (Norway).

Last edited by microgoat; 09-17-2006 at 07:00 PM.
microgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 08:37 PM   #13
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 180
Default

man!!...microgoat you had me all excited there for a minute......oh well, i cant wait to see what you have up your sleve for this one
Fordx4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 08:45 PM   #14
I'm a stupid C U N T!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In the Garage!
Posts: 4,307
Default

you are such a tease.
slobin3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 09:07 PM   #15
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Salem, Orcrc
Posts: 756
Default

it needs more flex!
clod booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 12:33 AM   #16
Pebble Pounder
 
Flash Burns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: In a rock crawler down by the river
Posts: 118
Default

With Novak Brushless Crawler setup can you run 2 motors with 1 esc. For example a clod diff based crawler?
Flash Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 02:00 AM   #17
RCC Addict
 
Wild trial's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: the land of the midnight sun
Posts: 1,451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clod booster
it needs more flex!
Yes not much flex as stock build.......If it's a hard core
crawler you are after, this is nothing for you,,,
But as a scaler it's pretty cool.

Looking forward to se your buildup Stu.....Can't wait.
Wild trial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 05:40 AM   #18
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 8,008
Default

Flash, any brushless needs one ESC per motor. The ESC reads the motor's position, so multiple motors are out. A Clod would need two (or in your case three) Crawler systems.
microgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 06:27 AM   #19
Pebble Pounder
 
Flash Burns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: In a rock crawler down by the river
Posts: 118
Default

So a 4 chnl. radio at a minimum, right? 1 chnl. for each throttle and 2 chnls. for frt/rr steer. Note my 6x6 will not be crawlin'. I intend to upgrade my NN crawler to brushless.
Flash Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 07:01 AM   #20
I wanna be Dave
 
cartronicshn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HONDURAS...ROCK HEAVEN
Posts: 5,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash Burns
So a 4 chnl. radio at a minimum, right? 1 chnl. for each throttle and 2 chnls. for frt/rr steer. Note my 6x6 will not be crawlin'. I intend to upgrade my NN crawler to brushless.
You could also y-harness the two esc to one channel, that's the way i have my bl clod setup, to mambas to ch2
cartronicshn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com