Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Axial XR10

Notices

Thread: New to Crawling - New XR10 owner needs some advice please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2011, 02:43 PM   #1

Default New to Crawling - New XR10 owner needs some advice please.

Howdy all,

A bit of a long winded question post, but I'm sure most of you can make fairly short work of these questions. I'd really appreciate your input.
I debated whether to post this in the XR10 forum or the complete newb forum, so I posted in both, I hope that's ok.

So anyhow, I picked up an XR10 (along with most of the associated gear) a few days ago, and I am up there with the newest of the newbs when it comes to crawling. Actually this is my first RC kit EVER!
As you can see by the picture below it's almost complete, but I still need to wire in the battery and BEC, as well as connect the motors to the ESC's.
I also need to perforate the tires and a few other things.

Before anyone asks, I've pulled the pins on the red ESC leads, and wired the rear motor in reverse order as per the the video in this thread. Great thread and video IMO.

Anyhow, to the point of this thread.

So far, I've built everything myself, and when I did have questions, most of them were answered with some research online (mostly from here), but there are a few still outstanding so if you have some suggestions, please let me know.

Questions as follows:

1. I picked up a Futaba 3PL 2.4G, I'm wondering if it's necessary to extend the antenna from the receiver, or can I leave it bunched up in the receiver compartment without fear of bad reception? It seems to me that 2.4Ghz systems don't rely so much on antennas as a traditional radio. I'd really rather keep the antenna out of the way if possible.