Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Yeti XL

Notices

Thread: just picked up a used Yeti XL today

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2015, 04:17 PM   #1

Default just picked up a used Yeti XL today

been playing with gas powered 1/5 scale Losi's for last few years and found a good deal on a YYeti XL today so i had to pick it up.

i am new to the all electric cars and not sure which motor is in this one. I was told it was a castle but cant find any markings on it.

i need to order up shock rebuild kits, change fluids and new arms , just to startt off with good stuff.

is there any aftermarket plastic arms? i seen a ton of aluminum ones, but worried of them bending aand staying bent. I bought it for bashing around the house and in the dunes.

gotta figure out my photobucket again to post up some pictures.

any advice of other things to check out or replace would be appreciated.
Megadesertdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-15-2015, 04:49 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: just picked up a used Yeti XL today

I wouldn't worry about the arms, just replace them with stocks and you're fine. I would simply redo the shocks however you want, 40 wt front and 30 wt rear might be a good starting point. For the diffs and diff oil, it depends on the terrain.
Sneetches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 07:40 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sneetches View Post
I wouldn't worry about the arms, just replace them with stocks and you're fine.
Agreed since there are no aftermarket plastic ones yet. RPM may make them in the future but unless thousands request it i doubt it. Fleabay, Dollar Hobbyz etc have spares for cheap.

There are a few threads on here on the shock oil subject and diff fluid. For bashing around the house and in the dunes what sneetches suggested will be fine as a starting point.

Do you have photos of the YXL?
RTR?
Driving style?