Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs Brand Specific Tech > Axial Brand Scale Rock Crawlers > Axial Yeti XL

Notices

Thread: Pinion and spur gear noise

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2016, 07:17 AM   #1

Default Pinion and spur gear noise

Hello ladies and gents, I'm new to this forum but have had rc cars, trucks, boats planes and helicopters so im not new to the rc scene. I have been out of it for ten or more years but got my son a 2wd slash for his birthday this year. I love breaking them and rebuilding them, to me trying to make it better than from the factory is fun. I am a engineering manager at a small machine shop and have cnc machines at my disposal. I see some custom parts in my future, I spoke with the owner and he is down with manufacturing and selling parts. I will let you know how that goes.

Now to the real question, since I am now hooked again I bought a used yeti xl rtr. When I got it I noticed that there was a clicking noise when I tried to roll it. I used it for about an hour and I started hearing what I thought was a diff stripping. Turns out the motor had shifted and the pinion was skipping teeth, eventually the screw loosened and the pinion slid back and was no longer engaged with the spur gear. When I rolled it without the pinion installed the clicking went away, there was the normal gear noise but not the clicking. I installed the pinion and the noise came back, it almost seems like the pinion is not parallel to the spur. I have seen this on other people's videos so I think it is normal or atleast normal to the truck. Have any of you found a fix for this? I was thinking of buying a HR motor mount to see if this fixes the problem. Could it be a bad set of gears? Like they are cut wrong and that is why they dont mesh? Thanks for reading and offering any advice.
yetibasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-22-2016, 09:24 AM   #2

Default Re: Pinion and spur gear noise