Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Upside down radio

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2018, 07:25 AM   #1

Default Upside down radio

I'm a newbie so hopefully that explains any stupidity I may spew.

I feel more comfortable using a controller with the steering on the left side. But since that's either too pricey or next to impossible, I've just been holding the controller upside down.

My question is are there any lightweight controllers out there? Obviously the bottom has the batteries which makes it top heavy if you're holding it upside down. I was hoping there might be some kind of solution? Or am I just pretty much going to have to get used to it?
JamesBond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-07-2018, 07:39 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Upside down radio

Yeah, most lefty convertible radios are the high end ones. You can check ebay for a used radio, racers are pretty quick to purge their stuff when new stuff comes out. A Spektrum DX3R or DX4R would probably be the ones to look for at a decent price.

Another option would be to hunt down an Arrma ATX300 radio and reciever, those are cheap, light, and easily adaptable.

svt923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 08:07 AM   #3
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC

A few locals hold the radio in the right hand and just pass the left hand over to the steering wheel. Its not uncomfortable at all actually. I see no reason to get a new radio unless you really want one for other reasons.
JohnRobHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 08:13 AM   #4
RCC Addict

My GF is a lefty. Like John shared, she holds the transmitter in her right hand and crosses her left hand over the top to steer.

I initially found her a convertible setup at Hobbytown but she outgrew its capabilities quickly.
2mtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 12:05 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave