Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: DX3R or get newer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2020, 10:46 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave
 
toy4crawlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Campbell, CA 4 hrs 2Rubicon !
Posts: 2,009
Default DX3R or get newer

Hey Crawlers

Having few issues with my Spektrum DX3R and just paid $17 in shipping to send in for service.
I'd love to have the new Dx5 rugged, its about time, so awesome!
Is there trade in credit for older transmitters?
How worthy is the DX3R today?

trying to decide if to approve cost repair or repair and sell it, how would you decide?

I kinda need it as my backup as its much more replaceable and lighter than my custom made DX6i dual wheel dual trigger Pistol transmitter.
toy4crawlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-26-2020, 06:26 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raleigh-ish vicinity
Posts: 3,531
Default Re: DX3R or get newer

I don't believe there is a standing trade in policy but Horizon has run several events in the past where you trade in a radio and get a credit towards a new Spektrum model.

As for the DX3, it is still a fine radio with all the adjustments you would need and the ability to use the cheap DSM compatible receivers is great. However, being only 3 channel holds it back when trucks are coming with more features that require extra radio channels. I still use my DX3 occasionally but use my DX5 Rugged way more these days.
svt923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 10:28 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 3,028
Default Re: DX3R or get newer

I sent my DX3 in for repair when the job dial stopped working. They not only fixed the dial, but they also tuned everything else up and it came back working like brand new. If it were not for wanting more channels, I'll likely still be using that radio.

Like SVT said, I do not believe there is a trade-in program. But, there are a good number of people that snap up DX3s when they show up in the Market Place.

One of the nice things about upgrading to a DX5 is that you can use your old DSM2 RXs (sadly, the DSM RXs are not compatible). Any, you can get off-brand 3ch DSM2 RXs four about $15 each on Amazon.
Greatscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 03:55 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave
 
toy4crawlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Campbell, CA 4 hrs 2Rubicon !
Posts: 2,009
Default Re: DX3R or get newer

Quote:
Originally Posted by svt923 View Post
I don't believe there is a standing trade in policy but Horizon has run several events in the past where you trade in a radio and get a credit towards a new Spektrum model.

As for the DX3, it is still a fine radio with all the adjustments you would need and the ability to use the cheap DSM compatible receivers is great. However, being only 3 channel holds it back when trucks are coming with more features that require extra radio channels. I still use my DX3 occasionally but use my DX5 Rugged way more these days.
Thank You SVT923
Thats what I needed to hear.
I sent it in for a tune, $13.07 plus shipping .
I just like the light weight tx and the fact that if something were to happen to it, its not a big deal like my Custom DX6i pistol which runs all 5 of my vehicles, my moa Dual esc, supwer with 4ws dig, scaler with winch, 1/5 awd with a brake button, shortcourse also with brake button on my pistol handle .
the dx3r is just my backup radio. but my SR3100 is not working, so now looking for a replacement rx
May I ask what is svt923?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Greatscott View Post
I sent my DX3 in for repair when the job dial stopped working. They not only fixed the dial, but they also tuned everything else up and it came back working like brand new. If it were not for wanting more channels, I'll likely still be using that radio.

Like SVT said, I do not believe there is a trade-in program. But, there are a good number of people that snap up DX3s when they show up in the Market Place.

One of the nice things about upgrading to a DX5 is that you can use your old DSM2 RXs (sadly, the DSM RXs are not compatible). Any, you can get off-brand 3ch DSM2 RXs four about $15 each on Amazon.
Thank You Greatscott
are the "off-brand" rx really worth it?
I'm not into supporting copy cats. I read about binding and other issues on the orange rx.
also read problems on spektrum SR3100 , the SR3000 or 3300 appear better reliability.

To All,
On the DX3R
Which button selector do I program for Front Dig?
After much time programming my newer DX6 stick , I'm having tough time with controlling dual esc's on right stick. my ar500 rx throttle ch is dead

Can I program 1 button so I can pull trigger thrtle for front ESC and have the 2nd esc rear go backwards set at certain percentage ?
program the second 2 position button so that i have independent control of the rear esc?
or perhpas a thread on most popular Dual esc pistol radio programing?

Thank you in rock loads
toy4crawlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 06:19 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 3,028
Default Re: DX3R or get newer

Quote:
Originally Posted by toy4crawlin View Post
Thank You SVT923
Thats what I needed to hear.
I sent it in for a tune, $13.07 plus shipping .
I just like the light weight tx and the fact that if something were to happen to it, its not a big deal like my Custom DX6i pistol which runs all 5 of my vehicles, my moa Dual esc, supwer with 4ws dig, scaler with winch, 1/5 awd with a brake button, shortcourse also with brake button on my pistol handle .
the dx3r is just my backup radio. but my SR3100 is not working, so now looking for a replacement rx
May I ask what is svt923?




Thank You Greatscott
are the "off-brand" rx really worth it?
I'm not into supporting copy cats. I read about binding and other issues on the orange rx.
also read problems on spektrum SR3100 , the SR3000 or 3300 appear better reliability.

To All,
On the DX3R
Which button selector do I program for Front Dig?
After much time programming my newer DX6 stick , I'm having tough time with controlling dual esc's on right stick. my ar500 rx throttle ch is dead

Can I program 1 button so I can pull trigger thrtle for front ESC and have the 2nd esc rear go backwards set at certain percentage ?
program the second 2 position button so that i have independent control of the rear esc?
or perhpas a thread on most popular Dual esc pistol radio programing?

Thank you in rock loads
For a throw-in 3-ch RX, with no telemetry or AVC, the $15 RXs are fine. DSM2 RXs do have issues at times binding on DSMR TXs (DX5/6 series), and often you'll have to reduce the resolution to get them to bind. But, once bound they are just as reliable as any other RX.

Like you, I am not a fan of knock-off merch, but the DSM2 technology is so old, it is more or less like abandoned, or open standards. Plus, if I want a RX that has telemetry, AVC or more than three channels, which is a good chunk of my rigs, then I have to buy genuine Spetrum hardware.
Greatscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



DX3R or get newer - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anybody get the newer hr tranny yet Phins Fan General Crawlers 6 04-03-2014 11:06 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com